How to Grow Your Business with Twitter – Start by Listening


How to Grow Your Business with Twitter – Start by Listening


Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedin

Twitter is by far one of my favorite social networks.   Twitter is a particularly useful tool for small business owners because it can be leveraged to (i) initiate relationships with prospective clients, (ii) identify business opportunities, (iii) attract speaking engagements and (iv) meet industry colleagues.  When used strategically, Twitter can initiate activity that leads to an expansion of your market share.

Before business owners dive into the Twitterspehre and start tweeting away or even hire a marketing agency like UpwardAction® to develop an integrated online marketing strategy for your company, I highly suggest that you monitor (aka “listen to”) how others are using Twitter for business.  Start building a powerful “listening” campaign by following and listening to my top 35 Tweeters.

This list covers a range of small businesses, big brands, CEOs, business & marketing advisers and motivational speakers.  Observe the tone & style of the Tweets for each brand/person as you consider the impact Twitter can have on your business.

  1. American Express (@OPENForum) –> http://twitter.com/openforum
  2. 85 Broads Organization (@85BroadsNewYork) –> http://twitter.com/85BroadsNewYork
  3. Dick Sporting Goods (@Dicksportingss) –> http://twitter.com/dicksportingss
  4. E.L.F. Cosmetics  (@askelf) –> http://twitter.com/askelf
  5. H & R Block (@hrblock) –> http://twitter.com/hrblock
  6. Pet Smart (@petsmarttlc) –> http://PetSmartTLC
  7. Wachovia Bank (@wachovia) –> http://twitter.com/wachovia
  8. Uniball (@UniBall_USA) –> http://twitter.com/uniball_usa
  9. Vera Bradley (@verabradley) –> http://twitter.com/verabradley
  10. Leap Frog (@leapfrog) –> http://twitter.com/leapfrog
  11. Bigelow Tea (@bielowtea) –> http://twitter.com/bigelowtea
  12. Community Market (@communitymarket) –> http://twitter.com/communitymarket
  13. Graco (@gracobaby) –> http://twitter.com/gracobaby
  14. DKNY (@dkny) –> http://twitter.com/dkny
  15. Pete Cashmore (@Mashable) —> http://twitter.com/mashable
  16. Lethia Owens (@LiveYourBrand) –> http://twitter.com/liveyourbrand
  17. Richard Rosenblatt (@DemandRichard) –> http://twitter.com/DemandRichard
  18. Pete Blackshaw (@pblackshaw) –> http://twitter.com/pblackshaw
  19. Brent Leary (@brentleary) –> http://twitter.com/brentleary
  20. Glen D. Gilmore, Esq. (@TrendTracker) –> http://twitter.com/trendtracker
  21. David Bullock (@DavidBullock) —> http://twitter.com/DavidBullock
  22. Tony Hsieh (@zappos) –> http://twitter.com/zappos
  23. Chris Brogan (@chrisbrogan) –> http://twitter.com/chrisbrogan
  24. Wayne Sutton (@waynesutton) –> http://twitter.com/waynesutton
  25. Alfred Edmond Jr (@alfrededmondjr) –> http://twitter.com/alfrededmondjr
  26. MariSmith (@marismith) –> http://twitter.com/marismith
  27. Andrew Morrison (@2morrisonandrew) –> http://twitter.com/2morrisonandrew
  28. Amy Cosper (@entmagazineamy) –> http://twitter.com/entmagazineamy
  29. Lena West (@lenawest) –> http://twitter.com/lenawest
  30. Diane Hessan (@communispaceCEO) –> http://twitter.com/communispaceCEO
  31. Monikah Ogando (@monikahogando) –> http://twitter.com/monikahogando
  32. John Jantsch (@ducttape) –> http://twitter.com/ducttape
  33. Rieva Lesonsky (@rieva) –> http://twitter.com/rieva
  34. DeLores Pressley (@delorespressley)  —> http://twitter.com/delorespressley
  35. Michael Hyatt (@michaelhyatt) –> http://twitter.com/michaelhyatt

BONUS – Follow me on Twitter at —> http://twitter.com/upwardaction

Now that you know who to follow, it's time to get into UpwardAction® by establishing a “listening” program!   Let me know if you need help making Twitter work for your business.   UpwardAction® is here for you!

Expect Excellence!

Coach TC

Tasha (TC) Cooper Coleman | UpwardAction® CEO

PS – Fellow lawyerpreneurs – I've got you covered later this week.  Stay tuned …

TC Cooper is an Amazon best selling author, lawyerpreneur and president of UpwardAction®. She is also the founder of the CooperZone Virtual Learning System, which includes the Linked Impact Academy, Tweeple Impact Academy, Live Streaming Impact Academy and Social Media Magic Coaching Group. As the CEO of UpwardAction®, TC helps lawyers, consultants and other professional service providers leverage the power of the Internet to build influential brands and sustainable businesses. TC earned her law degree at Columbia Law School, where she was a Harlan Fisk Stone Scholar, and her BA with honors from Hampton University. She is also a certified coach and graduate of CoachU.